Daily Archives: April 15, 2011

A Tale Of Two Governors: DP (Deval Patrick) and SP (Sarah Palin)

Sine the late summer of 2008, Americans have been subjected to a near constant barrage of all things, Sarah Palin. On an almost daily basis, we have been bombarded with her indecipherable diatribes elicited via Fox News, Facebook or Twitter. We have also been exposed to her ridiculous catch-phrases such as “Drill Baby, Drill”, “the lamestream media”, “death panels”, “mama grizzlies” and “Don’t retreat. RELOAD”. All the while, the ex-quitting, former half-term Governor of Alaska has contributed zero specific policy suggestions or provided any credible evidence that her radically conservative tax-cutting and unregulated free-market capitalism rhetoric would have any positive effect on the nation as a whole or its economy.

In contrast, we have Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick. Indeed not only has Patrick served his entire first term, but upon his re-election last November, he said that he fully intends to complete his full second term in office. Despite being a close personal friend of President Barack Obama, Patrick has unselfishly flown under the radar of the media spotlight and governed his state quietly to a position of leadership in job creation, employment, health care and education. During his Governorship, Massachusetts has either led the nation or been amongst the top 5 five states in employment, job creation, student achievement in both national testing and graduation at the high school and college levels and in ensuring that 98% of its residents have full health care insurance coverage. He achieved all of that while also balancing his state’s budget and without stripping public unions and employees of their bargained-for rights.

As we have said so many times in the past however, a video clip is worth a thousand a words, so let watch both Sarah Palin and Deval Patrick in action.

Now let’s watch Deval Patrick from just this past week. Lynnrockets apologizes for not having the video appear directly in this post, but simply click on the link below to watch the clip in a new window.

http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/tue-april-12-2011/deval-patrick

Deval Patrick and his leadership style are just a breath of fresh air.

Note:

Lynnrockets will be in the fair city of Montreal for the next several days enjoying some R & R with a few longtime hockey buddies. The timing could not be better as the Boston Bruins are facing-off against the Montreal Canadiens in the first round of the NHL Playoffs. Problem is, the Canadiens defeated the Bruins by a score of 1-0 last night in Boston. The Boston loss has denied the Bruins home ice advantage and denied Lynnrockets of trash-talking privileges at least until Saturday night. Here is hoping things turn around quickly in the hockey department. In the meantime, please bear (get it?) with us if posting is a little spotty next week. Luckily, we have the best house/dog sitter on the planet.

Please take at a look at my WRKO Boston talk radio-based blog also, too. It can be found here: Kevin’s Blog-A Liberal Dose of Reality.

Remember to click on the song link below to familiarize yourselves with the tune and to have more fun singing along with today’s topical song parody.

My Way song link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6E2hYDIFDIU

MY WAY

(sung to Frank Sinatra’s “My Way”)

And now, the end is near;
To all of you, I’m glad I met ya’
Alaskans, let’s make it clear,
Did I fool you?, Oh yeah, “ya betcha!”

You’ve met Todd, the “First Dude”,
His snowmachine is in the driveway.
Is he drunk? My God, he’s blitzed,
The D.U.I. way.

Regrets, I’ve had a few;
More than most, I will remember.
My lipstick and my hair-do
But most of all, 4th of November.

Each day since then has been
Another never-ending whine and cry day,
And I’ve been told by Newt Gingrich,
To hit the highway.

Yes, there were times, that now you know
I failed to declare “per diem” dough.
What’s this about “stimulus funds”?
Let’s just cling to, our God and guns.
Oh, I just winked and then I blinked;
And did it my way.

Nicknames, I’ve had a few
There’s “Caribou” and “Barracuda”
Now I’m known as “Sarah Who?”
Cuz Tina Fey is so much cuter.

To think I’m a has been;
And I can’t see – beyond next Friday
Woe, oh woe is me,
I won’t have my day.

For what is a gal, what has she got?
When her career, has gone to pot.
How to appear on nightly news;
When she’s inept at interviews.
She’s still exposed despite those clothes
Please hit the highway!

Yes, hit the highway.