Today Is The Second Birthday Of Lynnrockets’ Blast-Off !!!

What began as a fun little pastime has blossomed into two year’s worth of blogging. In December of 2008 yours truly was recovering from knee surgery and as a means to fight the boredom of the passive-motion machine, I  started perusing the comment sections of various blogs that I happened upon. Soon thereafter, I too began leaving comments of a political nature. Then, to have some fun, I began to post a few political song parodies based upon 1960′s and 1970′s television theme songs. Eventually I began to spend most of my time on a blog known as The Mudflats because I enjoyed the numerous posts about Sarah Palin.

By the early Spring  my comments were solely of the musical kind. To be honest however, my frequent postings seemed to annoy a number of The Mudflats‘ readers who desired more prose than poems. At that point the Mudflats‘ administrator suggested that I start a blog of my own (probably to get rid of me). The idea sounded great but impossible for this computer-challenged scribe. I did not even know what the word blog meant (by the way, I still don’t). Thankfully, the friendly neighborhood Mudflats administrator held my hand and walked me through the process of creating what you are reading today. I remain forever thankful.

Lynnrockets’ Blast-Off debuted on May 13, 2009. Nobody noticed. Little by little however, the readership increased and the growing traffic encouraged me to carry on. The task was made easier by Sarah Palin’s ever escalating shenanigans. Palin and her crazy family were simply spoon-feeding material to comment upon. In fact, she provided so much material that I ran out of television theme songs. Consequently, I was forced to venture into the world of popular music for the song parodies. Although the pop music world seemed to unveil a limitless number of songs it also made the task of parody more difficult. You see, pop songs are a lot longer and have way more lyrics than television theme songs. Fortunately, we were then blessed with the emergence of the moonbat-crazy Tea Baggers, Michele Bachmann and Glenn Beck’s descent into insanity and the non-masturbatory life of Christine O’Donnell. Somehow we persevered and here we are today celebrating our second birthday.

I thank each and every one of you for stopping by over the last 24 months. I would especially like to thank those that leave a comment now and again. Those comments provide a sense of worthiness as well as inspiration and new material for later posts. Once again, I thank all of you.

Today’s song parody is autobiographical in nature and explains the purpose of this blog.

Please remember to click on the song link below to familiarize yourselves with the tune and to have more fun singing along with today’s song parody.

I Write The Songs song link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w-fev20voMc

I WRITE THE SONGS

(sung to the Barry Manilow song “I Write The Songs”)

I sling the jive whenever,
I sit down and scribble a song
I put the words and Republicans together
I love music,
And I love these songs

I write the songs that I hope you folks sing
I write the songs to dethrone G.O.P. kings
I write the songs that expose all their lies
I write the songs, I write the songs

I’m from a state that’s deep blue,
And we make a damned good lobster roll
No, there aren’t many right wing guys
There’s some but then, all of them are very old

I write the songs that attack the right wing
I write the songs that I hope linger and sting
I write the songs that prompt Glenn Beck to cry
I write the songs, I write the songs

Oh, I’ll take a hostile stance
When Limbaugh begins to rave and rant
And I’ll lead you to a poll, he can’t disprove
Palin has no heart,
So, I will tear her life apart
Hannity, Coulter too,
Also, too, O’Reilly
None of them can hide from me !!!

I write the songs about Mark Sanford’s flings
I write the songs about Larry Craig’s stings
I write the songs about Mark Foley’s guys
I write the songs, I write the songs

I write the songs about Joe Wilson’s slings
I write the songs of Vitter’s diapery things
I write the songs about all of those guys
I write the songs, I write the songs

I love music, so I write these songs

Posted on May 13, 2011, in Christine O'Donnell, Glenn Beck, Michele Bachmann, Sarah Palin, Songs, Tea Party and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Happy Anniversary (which, I’m sure you noticed, is Friday the 13th)!!! Keep up the good work. Love today’s song parody!

  2. thinking of the Beatles Birthday song..

    You say it’s your birthday
    We always have a good time
    I’m glad it’s your birthday
    Happy birthday to you!

    Congrats on two years!

  3. Congrats!

  4. Congratulations and continued success.

  5. How time flies. I found “Mudlats” just about the same time you did (who the hell is Sarah Palin?) and first sang along to your songs back then. Remember her servers kept overloading back in those days because so many people were trying to find out who the hell Sarah really was so I’m sure she set you free because she was afraid you’d bring in even more commenters, don’t you think?

    Anyway it’s been a real pleasure these last two years and here’s to the next two!
    Ken

  6. lynnrockets – Happy 2nd Birthday for your blog! Your arrival on Mudflats was a wonderful thing, I remember it well. Posters got a little grouchy, while I encouraged you (sometimes it’s good to make the posters jolly up a bit). Your lyrics were hysterical, and I welcomed the lighter side, and intelligence, of your commenting art form. I still do! Yay for music, humor & lynnrockets!

  7. Hola from SoCal and Happy segundo Birthday lynnrockets and many more:)))))))))))))))))))))))

  8. michael Lewis

    Happy Birthday, Lynn. You are the most “spot on” writer of lyrics I have ever seen.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

