Lynnrockets Says Good Riddance To 2010

I really hate to sound bitter, but I cannot wait for 2010 to be history. For Lynnrockets, this was a tough year. For those that read this blog regularly, you already know that I lost both my parents and one of my dogs this year. Add to that, the fact that like so many others I have had to endure the downturn in the economy. An additional headache was caused when a Republican won Ted Kennedy’s Senate seat in Massachusetts because us Bay-State Democrats rested on our laurels and failed to show up at the ballot box. Then, there was the emergence of the absolutely wacky Tea Party. Honestly, I like the “founding fathers” as much as anybody but I don’t walk around dressed like George Washington to prove it. 2010 was also the year that, to my astonishment, a sizeable number of Americans started to believe that Sarah Palin is actually a credible candidate for the highest office in the land. Talk about a year in the Twilight Zone. Finally, just so that the year did not exit quietly, we had an oven fire yesterday which required the assistance of the entire fire department and for some unknown reason, the police also too. I simply cannot wait for 2011 to begin. In fact, I’m going to go out tonight and party like it’s 1999. I hope that I do not have to write tomorrow’s post from a drunk tank somewhere.

But enough of all that negativity. On the bright side I have been blessed in many ways also. I have a wonderful family and dog and I have been lucky to have all of you loyal Rocketeers checking in to see what I have to say every now and again. Life could be a lot worse.

Here’s to a happy and healthy new year for all of you. Let’s keep up the good fight!

No song parody today, just a song that I think says it all.

Posted on December 31, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Happy New Year Lynnrockets and be safe reveling tonight!

  2. Happy New Year

    Are you ready to rock? Are you ready to roll!

  3. Glad you all are safe.

    I’ll remember for next year: new stove, new year….How many new appliances do I need? I’ve heard the fire department guys are good looking….

    Best wishes for a fresh start to 2010, lynnrockets. It will get better, I’m sure of it.

  4. Best wishes for 2011 Lynnrockets. Hubby and I have colds, so we are staying in too. Will think of you and your pizza, tv New Year’s as we imbibe cold meds and wait for the ball to fall in NYC. I have loved your posts, your lyrics, and your spirit even as you have been tried this year with sadness and losses. I remember when you “gave up the blog” briefly, but you came back. Some of your lyrics are printed out and posted on my desk at the office to give me a laugh, and inspiration day to day. Hang in there with us for another year or 10.

  5. Happy New Year, and may 2011 be a better year for all of us proud and loyal liberals.

  6. All the best to you and your family for the New Year.

    We went out for Mexican, what a party of two we make. Ha Ha

Leave a Reply

