We Did It! Lynnrockets Wins!

We are happy to announce that Lynnrockets has won the WRKO “Next Great Political Blogger Contest”. Thanks to all of you supporters there will now be a liberal voice on Boston’s biggest conservative talk radio station starting in January. In light of the conservative host lineup and audience, I am expecting to be the target of much vitriol but I believe I am tough enough to be up to the task. After all, I can just keep reminding myself that they are the minority in this bluest city in the bluest state.

Lynnrockets’ Blast -Off is not going anywhere, however. It will still be my priority to put the same effort into this blog. The only difference will be that my voice will now be heard in more than one venue. If any of you are interested in seeing how things are going in radio-land, the AM 680 WRKO website is here.

Once again, I thank all of you for your votes and support. Now let’s get back to the blog.

Please remember to click on the song link below to familiarize yourselves with the tune and to have more fun singing along with today’s rather personal song parody.

I Write The Songs song link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w-fev20voMc

I WRITE THE SONGS

(sung to the Barry Manilow song “I Write The Songs”)

I sling the jive whenever,
I sit down and scribble a song
I put the words and Republicans together
I love music,
And I love these songs

I write the songs that I hope you folks sing
I write the songs to dethrone G.O.P. kings
I write the songs that expose all their lies
I write the songs, I write the songs

I’m from a state that’s deep blue,
And we make a damned good lobster roll
No, there aren’t many right wing guys
There’s some but then, all of them are very old

I write the songs that attack the right wing
I write the songs that I hope linger and sting
I write the songs that prompt Glenn Beck to cry
I write the songs, I write the songs

Oh, I’ll take a hostile stance
When Limbaugh begins to rave and rant
And I’ll lead you to a poll, he can’t disprove
Palin has no heart,
So, I will tear her life apart
Hannity, Coulter too,
Also, too, O’Reilly
None of them can hide from me !!!

I write the songs about Mark Sanford’s flings
I write the songs about Larry Craig’s stings
I write the songs about Mark Foley’s guys
I write the songs, I write the songs

I write the songs about Joe Wilson’s slings
I write the songs of Vitter’s diapery things
I write the songs about all of those guys
I write the songs, I write the songs

I love music, so I write these songs

Posted on December 22, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. regina palingates

    Congratulations! It’s been a good day for awards…

  2. Congratulations!

    Intelligence and a devastating wit – that’s our Lynnrockets! Go get ’em tiger!

  3. CONGRATULATIONS! You totally deserve it. And please please don’t leave us.

  4. Congratulations!

  5. From a fellow blogger in Massachusetts, Congratulations!!!

  6. Congratulations, Lynnrockets!

  7. We’re very proud of you, lynnrockets! You are the best!

    Congratulations on your new role! Those conservatives won’t know what hit them!

  8. What a great day for awards! First Palingates and now Lynnrockets! Congratulations and thanks for the great blogs that keep us informed. I appreciate the hard work that goes into all you do!

  9. Nail’m to the wall Lynnrockets. We’ll be following you wherever you go! Congratulations homeboy!

    • Seeing how you didn’t tell us, if you don’t mind, I will.

      (c) duties will entail writing one daily political-related blog (Monday through Friday only) to be posted daily on WRKO.com (but WRKO will not be obligated to post all such blogs)

      Congratulations part timer!

  10. YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You keep it up, slugger! (and the victory song is just the best!)

  11. Hey, this is great. Guess I have to add one more blog to my daily reading list.

  12. Congrats! Following your request, I voted Tea Party style about 65 times!

  13. Once they get a load of your songs you will have your own spot on the radio every week. Congratulations, Kevin.

  14. Woo Hoo, Lynnrockets! Congrats, we knew you could do it!

  15. Luv your site, I made sure I voted. Congrats!

  16. Fantastic news! Congratulations!!!!

  17. ProChoiceGrandma

    Woo Hoo!! (Oh wait, someone already said that) Hip Hip Hooray!!
    This is a fabulous day indeed! Palingates and Lynnrockets winning awards on the same day -this is a double-whammy blow to Sarah Palin, and that makes me feel so good. So thrilled that you will be our liberal/progressive voice and I know you will do us proud! Congratulations!

    (Sorry, my exclamation mark is in hypermode today)

  18. Congrats to your blog!
    You are a Rock Star!

  19. Congratulations, Lynnrockets! A well-earned award for stellar work.

  20. Lynnrockets: I have really enjoyed your creative parody song lyrics for some time now.
    I had a song come to mind when Palin “wrote” her second book, and it would be fun to see if you could do the parody around this theme: “Ghost Writers in….. the Sky!” [remember Ghost Riders in the Sky?]

  21. Well. huh! Ain’t this just such a thing! Congrats, friend and fellow New Englander. I wish you the best of luck in your new endeavor! You can definitely handle them, as your rapier wit and lightning fast synapses will leave them slack-jawed! 😀

  22. Congratulations! It’s so richly deserved LynnRockets. I’ve been a follower for a long time and plan to never stop. =)

    Hip, hip hooooooorah!

  23. Congrats! Brilliant parody. Loved you at mudflats.

Leave a Reply

