Thanks Rocketeers !!! (and a Request For Help)

A New England Thanksgiving

Before enjoying this most social of American holidays with my loving (yet, sadly smaller) family, supportive friends and darling dog, Lynnrockets will take this opportunity to proclaim thanks for a few blog-related yet meaningful things.

To the authors of The Mudflats: Thank you for encouraging me to start this blog a year and a half ago. You endured my song parody comments for far too long before suggesting that I give blogging a whirl. Moreover, your technical assistance in getting me up and running was invaluable to this technology-challenged neophyte. Thank you so much. I encourage all of my readers (affectionately known as “Rocketeers”) to visit The Mudflats for some of the best “Inside Alaska” content on the internet tubes.

To the other like-minded bloggers that have linked to Lynnrockets’ Blast-Off: Thankfully this list has been growing faster than I could have imagined and all bloggers know that the “link” is the best way to broaden your scope of readership. The “Link List” is far too long to mention everyone, so I will pare it down by listing only those folks that have linked from our infancy. Thanks to The Mudflats, I Heart The Mudflats, Beach Peanuts, Malia Litman’s Blog, Palingates, Waylon’s Revolution, Future Update, Palin’s Q&A + fun, SPN Headlines, The WilliamBanzai17 Blog, Lynn Happens and my unknown homie, Micky-T. I encourage all Rocketeers to visit these sites.

To the loyal Rocketeers: Thanks to all of you that visit the Blast-Off on a regular basis. The hits to this blog have multiplied exponentially since its inception in May of 2009. I would never have anticipated that so many blood-thirsty shut-ins existed and/or had the interest to read anything that I might post. I am especially thankful for those depraved souls (you know who you are) that regularly post comments. They are insightful, humorous, sometimes unintelligible and usually sarcastic. In short, just the type of stuff that belongs here. I love them, so please keep it up. I would also like to thank all of you for putting up with my multiple “Brett Farvreian” retirements and un-retirements. You folks put the “Rock” in Rocketeers.

and last but not least…

To the Palin Clan: It was, after all, Sarah Palin and her Wasilla Hillbillies that inspired the song parody phenom now known as Lynnrockets. If not for their fingernails-on-the-chalkboard voices, unintelligible speech patterns, spoiled-brat-like demeanors, public policy ignorance, celebrity-status seeking egos and their religious cult-like followers, we would be deprived of a daily supply of parody material. For all of that, Sarah Palin, we thank you.

Lynnrockets would like to wish all of you the happiest and healthiest of Thanksgivings. I toast to you all as follows:

“For each new morning with its light, For rest and shelter of the night, For health and food, For love and friends, For everything Thy goodness sends.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT

Lynnrockets needs your help. Boston’s largest talk radio station (WRKO AM) has chosen Lynnrockets as a finalist in its “Next Great Political Blogger Contest”. Yours truly has been selected  by the station’s staff (from over 200 entries) to be one of 10 finalists for a position with the station as a “liberal” blogger. There will be two winners (a “liberal” and a “conservative”) chosen by means of internet votes received. This is our chance to get even with the Palinbots for what they did for Bristol Palin on “Dancing With The Stars”. Like Bristol, I lack talent but with all of you voting for me, I may be able to pull-off an upset win. I offer my eternal gratitude if you loyal Rocketeers will visit the WRKO website (Here) and vote for wait…wait…here comes the spoiler…”Kevin McCarthy”. Looks like I’ve now been officially outed. Please vote early and often as the contest ends on Saturday, December 11th at 11:59pm EST. I would truly appreciate your help and if you really want to be of assistance, please encourage your family and friends to vote also, too!

Please remember to click on the song link below to familiarize yourselves with the tune and to have more fun singing along with today’s topical song parody.

Thank You Girl song link:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M_wC5zBOfxY

THANK YOU FOLKS

(sung to the Beatles song “Thank You Girl”)

Oh, oh
You’ve been good to me
This Bay State lad
Who just votes Blue
And eternally I’ll always be
So grateful too
And all I gotta do
Is thank you folks, thank you folks

We have shown the world
The point of view we’re speaking of
And that Palin girl
Is just a fool we make fun of
And all I gotta do
Is thank you folks, thank you folks

Thank you folks for reading me
The way that you do (way that you do)
That’s the kind of love
That is too good to be true
And all I gotta do
Is thank you folks, thank you folks

Oh, oh
You’ve been good to me
This Bay State lad
Who just votes Blue
And eternally I’ll always be
So grateful too
And all I gotta do
Is thank you folks, thank you folks

Oh, oh, oh
Oh, oh, oh
Oh, oh, oh

Posted on November 25, 2010, in Sarah Palin, Songs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Thank you lynnrockets and fellow Rocketeers. Happy Thanksgiving to all of you.

    Signed,
    A blood-thirsty shut-in 🙂

  2. Thanks for all your help! I’ll do my best to “get out the vote.” I have also announced a new web site that everyone can help publicize. Have a great Thanksgiving! Malia

    http://malialitman.wordpress.com/2010/11/25/announcing-just-say-no-to-b-s/

  3. Happy Thanksgiving to all! And of course you have my vote, ah I mean voteS.

  4. Thanks Lynnrocket, congratulations for making the top ten. You know you got my vote. I’ll start my Lynnrockets campaign this weekend.

    Have a great day!

    Happy Thanksgiving to all Rocketeers.

  5. Happy Thanksgiving Everybody

    Voted. The “cry for help” heading somewhat over-dramatic!

  6. Happy Thanksgiving, and keep up the good work.

  7. Way to go LynnRockets guy!! you have our votes!! Happy T-day.

    jojo & jakey

Leave a Reply

