Daily Archives: July 3, 2010

Quitter’s Night Music Byte

Flight of the Conchords is a New Zealand comedy duo composed of Bret McKenzie and Jemaine Clement. Billing themselves as “formerly New Zealand’s fourth most popular guitar-based digi-bongo acapella-rap-funk-comedy folk duo”, the group uses a combination of witty observation, characterisation and acoustic guitar music. The duo’s comedy and music became the basis of a BBC radio series and then an American television series, which premiered in 2007 on HBO, also called Flight of the Conchords.

They were named Best Alternative Comedy Act at the 2005 US Comedy Arts Festival and Best Newcomer at the Melbourne Comedy Festival, and they received a nomination for the Perrier Comedy Award at the 2003 Edinburgh Festival Fringe after performing at a venue called The Caves. The duo’s live performances have gained them a worldwide cult following.

Please enjoy Flight of the Conchords performing “Business Time”.

Happy Quitter’s Day

Lynnrockets would like to wish all of you loyal readers a most happy Quitter’s Day on the first anniversary of former Alaska Governor, Sarah Palin’s giving up on her state. It is with tears (of laughter) in our eyes that we look back one year to the day when Caribou Barbie decided to “go with the flow” in dead fish fashion. Who could forget the half term politician’s rambling speech lacking in detail but having something to do with a high school basketball game? Was there a dry eye in the state when she boasted of her great accomplishments by saying, “We broke ground on the new prison”? Alaskans young and old beamed with pride as Palin took full responsibility for her actions by proclaiming, “Political operatives descended on Alaska last August, digging for dirt. The ethics law I championed became their weapon of choice. Over the past nine months I’ve been accused of all sorts of frivolous ethics violations – such as holding a fish in a photograph, wearing a jacket with a logo on it, and answering reporters’ questions.” Finally her speech boldly explained in true Palinesque fashion that to continue serving Alaska as Governor would be  “a quitter’s way out.” Ah, Sarah we hardly knew ye.

But despair not. July 3rd will forevermore be celebrated as “Quitter’s Day” in honor of Sarah Palin’s great sacrifice to her state. Americans everywhere will commemorate the occasion by quitting: their jobs, their marriages, their hobbies, their diets and their New Year’s resolutions. This new holiday will celebrate the unheralded slacker in all of us. So, in honor of Sarah Palin, be patriotic and quit something today.

I will do my duty by quitting this blog.

Please enjoy this Sarah Palin song parody. Remember to click on the song link below to familiarize yourselves with the tune and to have more fun singing along with the parody.

Evita song link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X4oPWINVVEw&feature=related

DON’T CRY FOR ME GOOD ALASKANS

(sung to the Evita song “Don’t Cry For Me Argentina”)

I might be sleazy, I might be strange
When I try to explain how I feel
That I still need your votes after all that I’ve done

You won’t believe me
All you will see is a Guv you once knew
Best known for her cries and her whines
And rimless glasses, also too

I had to leave Alaska, I needed fame
Couldn’t stay all my life in the snow
Looking out of my window, staring right at Russia

So I chose D.C.
Heading down south, with Naughty Monkey shoes
I hoped to impress with my drawl
And my sixties beehive hairdo

Don’t cry for me good Alaskans
The truth is I’m glad I left you
My Wasilla days
My pay a pittance
And Michael Wooten
So long, good riddance

And as for ethics and as for blame
I never invited them in
And it seemed Alaska thought I should be fired

I have delusions
Ya betcha I wink and I blink so constantly
And I lived off of the state dime
I had my house built for near free

Don’t cry for me good Alaskans

(Musical Interlude)

Don’t cry for me good Alaskans
The truth is I’m glad I left you
My Wasilla days
My pay a pittance
And Michael Wooten
So long, good riddance

Have I said too much?
I’m sure you know I gave Alaska a good screw
But that is all that Alaskans will ever know
Cuz no more interviews.

But that is all that Alaskans will ever know
Cuz no more interviews.

Good Alaskans

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers