Have A Happy And Fun Columbus Day

christopher-columbus

There will be no newsworthy post today on Lynnrockets’ Blast-Off. The reason for this is that not only was there not much newsworthy news over the weekend, but also because nobody wants to work on the wonderful holiday known as Columbus Day. Here in Boston, it is sort of the Italian version of St. Patrick’s Day. We will be enjoying ourselves at  the oldest County Fair in the nation and probably getting sick on that wonderfully nutritious fair food. The weather is spectacularly Fall crisp and the foliage is at its height. What could be better?

On a more somber note however, we must admit that our spirits will be a bit dampened as the result of the Red Sox playoff defeat at the hands of the Angels. Then again, even though we no longer have a team to cheer for, it is almost just as fun to have a team to cheer against, and for that we still have the Yankees.

See you all tomorrow with a new post. Until then, please enjoy this Sarah Palin song parody. Remember to click on the song link below to familiarize yourselves with the tune and to have more fun singing along with the parody.

Evita song link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X4oPWINVVEw&feature=related

DON’T CRY FOR ME GOOD ALASKANS

(sung to the Evita song “Don’t Cry For Me Argentina”)

I might be sleazy, I might be strange
When I try to explain how I feel
That I still need your votes after all that I’ve done

You won’t believe me
All you will see is a Guv you once knew
Best known for her cries and her whines
And rimless glasses, also too

I had to leave Alaska, I needed fame
Couldn’t stay all my life in the snow
Looking out of my window, staring right at Russia

So I chose D.C.
Heading down south, with Naughty Monkey shoes
I hoped to impress with my drawl
And my sixties beehive hairdo

Don’t cry for me good Alaskans
The truth is I’m glad I left you
My Wasilla days
My pay a pittance
And Michael Wooten
So long, good riddance

And as for ethics and as for blame
I never invited them in
And it seemed Alaska thought I should be fired

I have delusions
Ya betcha I wink and I blink so constantly
And I lived off of the state dime
I had my house built for near free

Don’t cry for me good Alaskans

(Musical Interlude)

Don’t cry for me good Alaskans
The truth is I’m glad I left you
My Wasilla days
My pay a pittance
And Michael Wooten
So long, good riddance

Have I said too much?
I’m sure you know I gave Alaska a good screw
But that is all that Alaskans will ever know
Cuz no more interviews.

But that is all that Alaskans will ever know
Cuz no more interviews.

Good Alaskans

Posted on October 12, 2009, in Sarah Palin, Songs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Nice work on the song.

Leave a Reply

