Daily Archives: June 22, 2009

Enhanced Misdirection (Bush/Cheney and Torture)

dick_cheney_torture_2009

Here we go again. Over the last few weeks we have been subjected to numerous sound bytes of Dick Cheney and family touting the effectiveness of torture, or as they like to euphamistically  refer to it, “enhanced interrogation”. Then, last week George W. Bush boarded the misdirection express and seconded the Cheney assertions. Problem is, newly released CIA documents refute any such effectiveness.

As the Los Angeles Times reports, the torture only resulted in misinformation:

Self-proclaimed Sept. 11 mastermind Khalid Shaikh Mohammed told U.S. military officials that he had lied to the CIA after being abused, according to documents made public Monday. The claim is likely to intensify the debate over whether harsh interrogation techniques generated accurate information.

Mohammed made the assertion during hearings at Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, where he was transferred in 2006 after being held at secret CIA sites since his capture in 2003.

“I make up stories,” Mohammed said, describing in broken English an interrogation probably administered by the CIA concerning the whereabouts of Al Qaeda leader Osama bin Laden. “Where is he? I don’t know. Then, he torture me,” Mohammed said of his interrogator. “Then I said, ‘Yes, he is in this area.’ “

Mohammed also appeared to say that he had fingered people he did not know as being Al Qaeda members in order to avoid abusive treatment. Although there is no way to corroborate his statements, Mohammed is one of the militants whom the CIA repeatedly subjected to the simulated-drowning technique known as waterboarding. http://www.latimes.com/news/nationworld/nation/la-na-cia-detainee16-2009jun16,0,316330.story

Furthermore, the Washington Post reports:

An al-Qaeda associate captured by the CIA and subjected to harsh interrogation techniques said his jailers later told him they had mistakenly thought he was the No. 3 man in the organization’s hierarchy and a partner of Osama bin Laden, according to newly released excerpts from a 2007 hearing.

“They told me, ‘Sorry, we discover that you are not Number 3, not a partner, not even a fighter,’ ” said Abu Zubaida, speaking in broken English, according to the new transcript of a Combatant Status Review Tribunal held at the U.S. military prison in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba.

President George W. Bush described Abu Zubaida in 2002 as “al-Qaeda’s chief of operations.” Intelligence, military and law enforcement sources told The Washington Post this year that officials later concluded he was a Pakistan-based “fixer” for radical Islamist ideologues, but not a formal member of al-Qaeda, much less one of its leaders. http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/06/15/AR2009061503045.html?hpid=moreheadlines

The evidence piles up. Not only did the Bush Administration lie when they assured us that our country does not torture, they followed up with the lie that the torture was effective. The more sunlight that falls upon Bush and Cheney, the more their ugly scars become apparent.

bush torture2

This leads to our newest song parody and please click on the song link because many of you younger readers may recognize the tune as the dancing internet baby Hooga Chucka song.

Hooked On A Feeling song link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bo-qweh7nbQ&feature=related

HOOKED TO THE CEILING

(sung to the Blue Swede song “Hooked On A Feeling”)

Hooga chucka hooga hooga, Hooga chucka hooga hooga
Hooga chucka hooga hooga, Hooga chucka hooga hooga

My arms have no feelin’ they keep fryin’ me
World, you just don’t realize what they do to me
When they fold me in a space so tight
Waterboard me every single night

I-I-I, I’m hooked to the ceiling
Losing all feelin’ till they stop clubbin’ me

George Bush and Dick Cheney, put me in this bind
“Enhanced interrogation”, their term not yet defined
Just the same the whole world knows its still torture
No matter what they call it, I just can’t endure

All this tough love when we’re all alone
Could the Red Cross, please throw me a bone

I-I-I, I’m hooked to the ceiling
Losing all feelin’ till they stop clubbin’ me

(musical interlude with a few Hooga Chucka’s thrown in)

All this tough love when we’re all alone
Could the Red Cross, please throw me a bone

I-I-I, I’m hooked to the ceiling
Losing all feelin’ till they stop clubbin’ me

I’m hooked to the ceiling
Losing all feelin’ till they stop clubbin’ me

I said, I’m hooked to the ceiling
Losing all feelin’ till they stop clubbin’ me

Sarah Palin Boob Tube Theme Songs – 15

Sarah_television3

Technically, this song parody is not a television theme song, but rather a movie theme song. However, the James Bond Goldfinger film has been televised countless times over the years and consequently, has gained television theme song status with us.

Please click on the song link below so as to make singing along a lot more fun.

Goldfinger song link: http://video.libero.it/app/play?id=a0b1b3cfe6cba865da6d4aa7ed17bd9f

COLDFINGER

(sung to the theme of “James Bond’s Goldfinger”)

Coldfinger
She’s the gal, who’s hairstyle is a bit much
Perhaps she’s Dutch
Such a gold digger
She’s been known to collect per diem pay
She should repay

“Ya Betcha”, she is an “Arctic Cat”
“Joe the Plumber” she just winked at
“Joe Sixpack” knows that when she kisses
she’s got real bad breath…

that Mrs. Coldfinger.
Son, Track and Todd only have G.E.D.’s
Dumb G.O.P.’s

“Ya Betcha”, she is an “Arctic Cat”
“Joe the Plumber” she just winked at
“Joe Sixpack” knows that when she kisses
she’s got real bad breath…

That Mrs. Coldfinger
Baby Trigg’s birth story remains untold
If truth be told
The story controlled
We were sold
Sarah’s bold
The story controlled
We were sold

Sarah’s bold.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers